Season 2023/24 Forthcoming Concerts

Friday 24 May 2024, 7:30pm
West Road Concert Hall, Cambridge CB3 9DP


Generously sponsored by Mr and Mrs Adam Horne
Nocturne in A-flat, Op. 32 No. 2
Three Mazurkas, Op. 50
Sonata in B-flat minor, Op. 35
Nocturne in F-sharp minor, Op. 48 No. 2
Sonata in B minor, Op. 58

In the almost twenty years since his victory in the 2005 International Chopin Piano Competition in Warsaw, Rafał Blechacz has achieved a position as one of the preeminent pianists of our age. His outstanding talent has been appreciated by the audiences of Europe, America, and Asia, and he has regularly performed in the most prestigious concert halls, and - in concertos - with the some of the world’s finest orchestras and conductors. His concert venues include the Royal Festival Hall and Wigmore Hall in London, the Berliner Philharmonie, the Herkulessaal in Munich, the Alte Oper in Frankfurt-am-Main, Liederhalle in Stuttgart, Konzerthaus in Vienna, Tonhalle in Zurich, Victoria Hall in Geneva, Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, Salle Pleyel in Paris, Palais des Beaux-Arts in Brussels, Avery Fisher Hall in New York, La Scala in Milan, and Suntory Hall in Tokyo, to name but a few. Conductors with hom he has played include Charles Dutoit, Valery Gergiev, Daniel Harding, Pavo Järvi, Fabio Luisi, Kent Nagano, Andris Nelsons, Trevor Pinnock, Mikhail Pletnev, Antoni Wit, and David Zinman. 

Ever since he won the Grand Prix, the Gold Medal, and the Audience Award at the Chopin Competition in 2005, he has consolidated his reputation as an interpreter of Chopin’s works who combines seemingly effortless virtuosity with outstanding interpretative intelligence and vision. His repertory, however, is ever-growing, and in a series of recordings for Deutsche Grammophon (for whom he records exclusively) he has offered equally highly regarded interpretations of  Bach, Mozart, Beethoven, Liszt, Brahms, Debussy and Szymanowski. Among his numerous prizes and honours is the American Gilmore Artist Award, sometimes called the ‘Nobel Prize for the Piano’, which was bestowed on him in  2014.